Lactose Free Protein – How it’s Made and Why

Milk, gluten and lactose free protein products are more popular now because as new health studies comes out about processed animal products, the public’s interests have changed. Now more than ever, people are focusing on the dairy free, protein rich, health conscience alternatives.

These new protein supplements are made from various sources such as rice, peas, hemp, soy and eggs to name a few. However, there’s a lot more to lactose free protein powder than just throwing a few eggs and rice into a vat and blending it all up.

How to Make Casein and Lactose Free Supplements

Army scientists energize battery research © by RDECOM

To qualify as a lactose free protein powder, the supplement must have a strict 0% lactose concentration. Anyone who has ever been the unfortunate subject of a lactose allergy would find this gluten free protein powder an ideal substitute.

The most popular proteins on the market get their protein from an ingredient called whey. Whey is actually a by-product which is formed during the cheese making process, and is often considered to be somewhat of a waste product. Whey is something that many of you may have heard of, but few are aware of how it’s made.

Because of the very nature of how whey protein is made, vegans wont ingest it. There is no place for whey powder within the vegan lifestyle!

Alternative Ingredients to Whey and Dairy

egg variety © by telepathicparanoia

Egg whites – Easily one of the more common and widely known ingredients, which you will find present in almost all protein powders. Simply crack the egg, split the yolk from the whites, and you’re away. You can then get to work on reducing those egg whites into a powder. Most powders that use this ingredient will typically contain only egg white protein, and are not mixed with any other substances. This makes whey one of the most adaptable and versatile protein powders on the market.

As well as hitting those high protein levels that we all need in our lives, whey also gives us some vital amino acids and the smallest amounts of fat to keep your body in tip top condition.

Soy based lactose free protein – Soy is an ingredient which has seen more than its fair share of controversy over the past few years. Anyone who is familiar with their protein powders will testify to the fact that the industry is somewhat divided on the subject of soy. 

Some experts say it has benefits, and others say that its benefits are, at best, limited. Either way, there is little doubt that soy and soy protein supplements makes it an ideal ingredient for those looking for a milk and dairy free source of protein supplements.

Soy is a great quality ingredient, which acts as a vital tool to keep muscle lean. But while soy has some great properties to it, it also has its drawbacks. One of the most common allergies in the world today, is an allergy to soy. This naturally means that large portions of the population are forced to stay away from any protein powders containing soy or any derivative thereof.

Rice protein powder – Unlike soy, rice is unlikely to provoke an allergic reaction to the majority of users, while carrying some of the properties which make soy so great I the first place.

The amino acid make-up of rice protein, for example, roughly matches that of breast milk. You can expect rice based protein powders to be lactose free and therefore highly suitable for vegan consumers. Unfortunately however, even rice powder is not immune to the downsides that face many lactose free protein powders today.

Almost everyone who tries it will remark on its unfortunate taste, and the way that the stomach finds it so difficult to digest such a high nutritional shake. Even taking the step of adding flavoring to the powder is unlikely to take much away from its particularly bad aftertaste.

The 4th and final type of protein that you will likely encounter is hemp protein. Strictly speaking, hemp is more of a source of fiber and its protein content is actually surprisingly low. This is what makes it so different from other forms of lactose free protein powder that you may have come across before.

Benefits of Lactose Free Protein Powder

You’ll also find healthy doses of other key nutrients such as sodium, an extremely low fat content, and absolutely no cholesterol what so ever. You can expect a slightly nutty taste from this powder, and if you need to increase your fiber intake then this is the powder for you.

As your stomach capacity naturally shrinks and reduces as training becomes more intense, our bodies can struggle with the bloated feeling of bulky protein shakes. This makes the gluten free, vegan alternatives a natural go to for you. Get the protein intake that your body needs, but without the unnecessary downsides that so often accompany it. You can even find lactose free protein powders with added flavoring so that you enjoy it just as much as your body does!

About the author

veganproteinpowder_admin

Comments are closed